Practical information about the Philippines

Below you will find practical information about the Philippines which is good to read well in advance before your departure so that you are well prepared.

 

Passport/Visa

Visa for the Philippines is not required for EU citizens if your stay in the country does not exceed 30 days. You must be able to present a return flight ticket. If you are another ntionality, please consult the Embassy or consulate of your country.

The passport must be valid 6 months after the date of arrival. Always have a copy of your passport with you.

Health

  • Vaccinations: Make sure you have standard vaccination for travel abroad to this part of the world. Check if you need treatment for malaria (if you are going to remote islands for example). Take a travel insurance with you.
  • Tips: Do not drink tap water. Be careful with freshly peeled fresh fruits and vegetables.

Currency

Philippine Pesos (PHP)

  • Currency Exchange: US Dollars. Exchange fees and exchange rates become less advantageous the further away from Manila you come. Outside of Manila, it is better to pay in pesos. Diving is often paid in US dollars.
  • Credit Cards: American Express, Diners Club, MasterCard and Visa are widely accepted in most major cities, but cash is preferred. ATMs can be found everywhere.

Time difference

  • In the summer + 6h: 12 noon in Sweden, is 18 pm in Manila.
  • In the winter + 7h: 12 noon in Sweden is 19 pm in Manila.

Weather/Climate

The Philippines offers a tropical, warm and humid climate all year round. December – April is the high season. In December it can be 21 and 30 degrees.

May and October – November are almost as good.June-September is low season and risk of typhoon.

Want to design your own trip?
Briefly describe your wishes, and we will come up with exciting suggestions.
Request a customized proposal